Moonlover

If you can appreciate extreme music for what it is then I have an album for you. It’s sometimes, loud, noisy, and filled with violent screaming. At other times it’s quiet and atmospheric with melodic guitars. Sometimes it’s a combination of the two. It’s all over the place, and it’s great that it doesn’t follow any rules of what heavy music should sound like.

I’m not a huge fan of metal. The classics are tolerable if someone else is playing them, but I never really find myself reaching to listen to Metallica, Slayer, Judas Priest, and the like. Sure, Slayer can riff like nobody’s businesses, but I get bored. That’s why I got into punk in the first place because I didn’t have the attention span for guitar solos. I’ve grown to appreciate more music as I’ve gotten older but traditional metal still doesn’t really do anything for me.

I’ve gravitated towards black metal over the years. There’s so many different styles and nuisances that you can appreciate once you peel back the stereotype that is black metal as a whole. I don’t know if “Moonlover” by Ghost Bath counts as a black metal album, but labels suck anyway. It’s more of a general specification than a restriction tag in my book.

I’ll tell you right now, if there are lyrics on this album then I have no idea what they are. I don’t think that matters so much as the music is so intense, your emotions will fill in the void. Maybe they’re not decipherable for a reason? It feels weird saying that, yet wanting to recommend this album so much. It doesn’t sound like anything I’ve ever heard. It sounds like the best aspects of all the different styles black metal. There’s beautiful piano interludes, soaring guitars, brutal blast beats, and hauntingly screamed vocals. There’s no pentagrams, no corpse paint, no bullshit. Just extreme music that makes it’s own atmosphere and experience for the listener.

The diversity of the album is what gives it the replay ability that other albums don’t have. There’s always something that I didn’t hear the previous time making it almost a new experience each time I put it on. I’ll leave you with the link to go listen to it. It’s not for everyone, but to those who are into the types of stuff I’ve talked about give it a try.

https://ghostbath.bandcamp.com/

 

Leave a comment