Waxahatcha-what?

Waxahatchee is a band I had heard of years ago but never bothered with. Maybe it was the name. Maybe I just wasn’t a fan on first listen. I was perusing the list of new monthly releases (as I do on a weekly basis) and saw the band name pop up again. Don’t make my mistake. This band is good.

Waxahatchee’s 2015 release of “Ivy Tripp” is full of music. Atmospheric ballads, playful indie pop songs, and in your face rockers. It’s refreshing to hear a diverse album. Every song is different. “Breathless” opens the album with synths laid and Katie Crutchfield’s unique voice over what can only be described as TV static. The song sounds completely different from everything else on the album, but that’s what makes it so great. It’s a perfect introduction to Katie’s voice which I compare to a cross between Natalie Merchant and Alanis Morrisette. It’s immediately unique, but warm and inviting. Her lyrics speak of this feeling of being lost.

“If I was foolish I would chase
A feeling I long ago let fade
And we could be good for days

You take what you want
You wear it out
I’m not trying to be a rose
You see me how
I wish I was
But I’m not trying to be seen”
– “Breathless”

The two following songs, “Under A Rock” and “Poison” are indie rockers that demonstrate what Waxahatchee are best at. “La Loose” is probably my favorite song on the album. Everything just comes together so well. They dial back the guitars and crank up the organ (am I the only one who feel the organ is the most under represented instrument?).

“My thoughtful consort
When the stars are holding court
We will be in another world
Where my clarity’s restored
And this charming picture of
Hysteria in love
It could fade or wrinkle up
I don’t hold faith in much
I know that I feel more than you do
I selfishly want you here to stick to”
– “La Loose”

Katie is the definition of a song writer and comes from a punk background in Plan-It-X Records. This mentality encourages artists create art how they want and simple what will sell. Take a look at the Plan-It-X Records release list sometime and see how many amazing records they were part of. Those records don’t have sales that other artists have, but are just as worthy of your attention. Just because the masses won’t bother with it doesn’t mean you have to miss out on something great. This is really the only reason I write this thing in the first place. Sharing music that I enjoy that effects me and passing it on to someone else who might need it.

“Ivy Tripp” continues on this path of the first four songs. There’s some experimental songs and then some straight indie rock songs that keep the album moving. This album is the equivalent of an exhale after a long day.I went for a walk last night with my wife and my dog while listening to this album. It just sounds so refreshing to listen to from start to finish.

I encourage anyone who appreciates song writing or indie rock in general to check this out.

Leave a comment